Studio news

Yesterday I completed a new firing of earrings in the kiln. <BR><BR>
The glass I use is Bullseye art glass from America which is optically clear, excellent quality, and, most importantly for me, is available in a gorgeous range of colours. I cut, clean, arrange and stack the glass, it is then fired on fibre paper to 790 degrees C in my studio kiln using a 12 hour firing schedule I have worked out for the purpose.

This is my first blog, I am hoping to demystify what happens in my studio and give you some insight into my processes. I will be making regular entries and developing the blog in a more interactive way once I get the hang of the technology! Please send me a comment to let me know what you think so far.

Yesterday I completed a new firing of earrings in the kiln. The glass I use is made in America by Bullseye, it is optically clear, excellent quality, and, most importantly for me, is available in a gorgeous range of colours. I cut, clean, arrange and stack the glass, it is then fired on fibre paper to 790 degrees C in my studio kiln using a 12 hour firing schedule I have worked out for the purpose.

Ruby came in after school and made a few glow-in-the-dark pieces for her friends and a dichroic glass pendant which we fired along with my pieces. We took photos of each other at work.

This is what the glass looked like before and after firing (the glow-in-the-dark pieces obviously only show up after dark!).
Next stage will be cutting the wires, drilling into each piece and refiring.
Meanwhile, today I have been working on my aerial painting series which is in a very experimental stage. I want to develop some bigger paintings from these ideas. The inspiration comes from some work I have been doing about Bardsey Island and the experience of flying over Pembrokeshire with a friend who is a pilot and is exchanging flights for a piece of my work – I love swaps!
4 thoughts on “Studio news

  1. Dear Linda,
    I have never written to anyone’s blog before but have really enjoyed reading yours. I am a teacher and painter in Swaledale. I spend my Fridays painting and really enjoy it. I’m coming to Pembrokeshire for a holiday in October and typed in Pembrokeshire artists on Google. Yours was the first website to come up and it has been really inspirational looking at your paintings and reading your blog. I’ve been feeling a bit stuck with my paintings and it has helped me to read of your struggles as well as your enthusiasm. Kind regards, Jill Eagle
    PS I will be following your blog.

Leave a Reply

