November Update – Autumn Gales

Well, my Online Studio Sale is underway! Sketches and studies from £40 are selling like hot cakes and all those weeks of writing web pages are paying off. It is a great way of clearing some space for new work, giving people the chance to buy original pieces at affordable prices and giving me some income over the winter when visitors are thin on the ground. Perfect.

 

 

 

I just got back from a few days in London catching up with old friends and seeing an awesome performance by Sonny Rollins at The Barbican. One of the best things (apart from Sonny, of course) was the Auerbach show at the Courtauld Gallery – very interesting to see his big paintings of  post-war reconstruction sites in London shown all together, alongside sketches and studies for the work. It gives an interesting perspective to all the Olympic construction going on in the East End right now which is so visually fascinating and so utterly painterly.

I also enjoyed talking glass for a day with Christine and wondering how the Romans ever managed without programmable kilns! And tea at Libertys with my new friend, Elaine, coffee at Carluccios with my oldest friend, Helena, and meze on the sofa with my wonderful, generous friends and hosts, the F-Ks (special thanks to Izaak for lending me his room!).

It is so good to get out of Maenclochog sometimes, drink in new stimulus and get a fresh perspective on what I am doing here – namely spending too much time on the computer and not enough in my studio! Now the Studio Sale is underway it is time to get back to the studio and pick up work on my new big paintings. It is hard to balance the necessary business side of making a living as an artist and the art bit.

Sometimes I wonder if it is possible to do anything in painting anymore. Thinking about it can be paralysing, sometimes it is best just to put your head down and try.

Leave a Reply

