Spring on Skomer

I am just back from 4 nights on Skomer Island off the Pembrokeshire coast(http://www.welshwildlife.org/skomerIntro_en.link). I have been visiting the island since 1993 and it is always the source of much inspiration. This time I had 5 days of painting and walking and collecting detritus to use in my work. It was really a research trip, gathering ideas and material which I will process in the coming months.

I am planning some big paintings and some glass castings based on Skomer and have already begun making moulds and preparing the kiln.

Thanks to Chris for letting me have a studio space and to all the island staff for their friendly welcome and interest in my work. Thanks also to the Hoopoe for making my day! I hope to go back in a few weeks time when the bluebells are in full swing.

Apart from Skomer pieces, I am currently making a glass piece for Tenby Museum to celebrate the life of Robert Recorde, a mathematician who was born in Tenby in 1510 and invented the equalls sign – a suitably nerdy subject which caught my imagination!

This month I have an exhibition coming up in the Taliesin Arts Centre at Swansea University with 3 other Pembrokeshire artists. The opening is on Friday 14th May 6-8pm, please come along if you are in the area, the exhibition runs until 12th June. More information is available at  http://www.taliesinartscentre.co.uk/gallery.php?id=152

Leave a Reply

