Christmas Crafts

I am enjoying a Christmas break – making Lego “collage” with my nephew on Christmas day, then today, inspired by a gift of some beautiful handspun wool from Shetland (thank you, Julia), I picked up the Shetland knitting pattern which I had abandoned months ago. It is a traditional Shetland cockleshell pattern and is fairly complicated to do – I have no idea how on earth women used to knit like this while hauling fish (rather than waiting for gallery visitors) – maybe that’s the benchmark of a true crafts person! It is lovely to get back to knitting, quite a contrast to glass – something I have in mind to explore more fully some day…

Leave a Reply

