Birds and Poetry

Image

Her House is Air, cast, blown and engraved glass, peregrine falcon feather and pen nib.

Photo by Toril Brancher

I am delighted to announce that I have just won the inaugural £10,000 Adrian Henri Poetry in Art Prize at Much Wenlock Poetry Festival for my piece, Her House Is Air.

I will be spending my prize money buying a new kiln and other studio equipment and giving myself some time this autumn to develop new work in my studio.

Image

I am just back from Skokholm Island off the Pembrokeshire Coast where I have spent a week developing ideas for new work. I went with Rachel Phillips, Rachel and I are designing a stained glass window for the island and spent the week sketching, absorbing the place and delving through old bird books and scientific data in the library, which the wardens kindly allowed us to use as our studio.

Skokholm is the neighbouring island to Skomer and is an island I have visited over the past 20 years, it has recently been purchased by the Wildlife Trust south and West Wales and will soon be re-established as a bird observatory for the monitoring and recording of bird life. It is exciting to see it with its newly restored accommodation (there is now electricity and even occassional wifi!), most of the considerable renovation work has been carried out on a shoestring with volunteer labour. The new wardens, Richard and Giselle, will soon be taking up residence in the lighthouse. If you are interested in birds, take a look at their blog.

Image

The lighthouse on Skokholm.

There is so much that inspires me about the Pembrokeshire Islands, they have everything that grabs my imagination, including birds, research, archaeology, history, dramatic weather, isolation…ImageI have come back to my mainland studio with masses of ideas and inspiration for new work.

ImageA sample piece for Skokholm Island.

I have been busy preparing for my trip to the US in May. I will be giving a paper about our Conwy Castle windows and running a glass workshop for the American Glass Guild Conference in Florida, then going to the National Glass Museum at Corning and on to New York.

ImageA sample piece for my US workshop.

3 thoughts on “Birds and Poetry

  1. Hi Linda, looks like you’ve got a busy year, and congrats on the prize – I’m envious of you having been on Skokholm already, but bet it was cold! Jan and I are are back to Skomer for bird count week, then Gill, Jan and I are off to Skokholm on 7th June, weather willing! And I’m back again in August for John Jones’ lichen course – maybe will see you on one of those trips? Sue

    1. Lichen Course? Hmmmm….I am so busy this summer tho – I am in America in May giving a paper and workshop to the American Glass Guild, teaching on Greece in June then off to Northlands in Caithness on a scholarship from the Worshipful Company of Glaziers for a weeks masterclass….so much travel I have to rein myself in!

Leave a Reply

